5 Old wives tales about gender predictions during pregnancy

There are lots and lots of myths and old wives tales that you keep on hearing about once the news spreads that you’re expecting. Trust me I’ve been there multiple times and still there are things about pregnancy and childbirth that I hear and wonder, like seriously? I am sure many of you moms went through it. 

Here’s my list of old wives tales that I keep on hearing about gender of the soon-to-be-born keeping ultrasound aside. Do correct me or add if you know any. 

Bump shape 

The most common one. There are ladies who look at your bump and predict the gender of your soon-to-be-born like a pro. Whatever science or X-ray eyes they had. Traditionally it is believed that if you are carrying high with a big, round belly, you are having a girl. If you are carrying low with a smaller but straight out belly, it’s a boy. 

Was it true for you? I am into 6th month of pregnancy and carrying low. So, let’s see how true it goes. 

Cravings

In my family particularly I’ve heard that if you start hating Chai and don’t feel like consuming it during pregnancy, you’re carrying a boy. People also believe that if you are craving salty foods while pregnant, you can count on having a boy. 

According to these parameters, I am having a girl coz I am having tea regularly but I am craving mostly salty foods too. So, it’s a 50-50 kinda scene for me lol. 

Leg cramps

They say you’re carrying a boy if you’re experiencing leg cramps specially in your left leg. If your legs get swollen or you feel them getting bigger, you’re having a boy. 

Hmmm. According to this weird assumption I’ll be having a boy. 

Mom’s Beauty

Talk about pregnancy glow lol. If you’re having acne and feels like your beauty is vanishing during pregnancy, you’re having a girl. It is said that the girl “steals” the mother’s beauty. 

I am unsure about this as the freckles that previous pregnancies have given me are starting to show and I feel like using makeup a lot. I am undecisive. 

Morning Sickness

This one is interesting. A smooth pregnancy with no morning sickness means a boy. I was super nauseated when my girls were born but at my son’s time the nausea onset was after 6 months. 

This time around I didn’t have a vomit or nauseating feeling so far, not even once. Kinda strange. 

Can you predict the gender of my baby based upon all of the above old wives tales? I will update this post once the bundle of joy is born. InshAllah. Till then keep us in your prayers. 

3 thoughts on “5 Old wives tales about gender predictions during pregnancy”

  1. Many congratulations Hina. Boy or girl I just wish a beautiful healthy baby who will bring joy and happiness to your family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

